LIVE – Tour de France (20th stage): van Aert winner of the time trial, Vingegaard secures his yellow jersey


Ok we will have to complete the stage in Paris on Sunday but the Dane has secured his yellow jersey


Wout van Aert too strong on the second part: he signs a third stage victory.

Pogacar is done

No miracle and a provisional second place on the clock, 27 seconds behind van Aert


Oh la la it was hot on a turn taken too wide! Big scare for Vingegaard on the descent

Thomas beaten, it should be for van Aert

Geraint Thomas will not go looking for Wout van Aert. We do not see what could deprive him of the victory of the day…

That’s it, Vingegaard passes behind van Aert

Now 5 seconds behind for the yellow jersey. Van Aert made a huge second part, it will be hard to get it

Vlasov is done

15th time, he will finish fifth overall

Bardet crossed the line

21st place for the Frenchman, who sets a rather good time

Van Aert named super-combative

It’s official, it’s Wout van Aert who has been designated super-combatant of this Tour de France, by a jury chaired by the race director Thierry Gouvenou. A unanimous decision.

Pinot on its chrono

“It was super bad”: well at least, he laughs a little

Vingegaard loses a tiny bit of time

The yellow jersey is now only three seconds ahead of van Aert, in a sector where the latter had nevertheless delayed a little…

Gaudu doubled by Thomas

The image is nothing surprising but it still hurts

Powless 14th so far

Arrival of Powless with the 14th fastest time

Vingegaard is impressive

At the second point, Vingegaard took van Aert seven seconds and is 20 seconds ahead of Pogacar at km 22.

Pogacar is still losing time

13 seconds behind van Aert for Pogacar, who is losing time. Frankly, we hardly believe in miracles for him.

Thomas second to 2nd intermediate

Big start to the lap for Geraint Thomas, who passed second to the second intermediate. Enough to ensure his third place overall.

Vingegaard… in front of the first intermediate

Yes yes Jonas Vingegaard has a better time than van Aert in the first intermediate…

All the leaders of the general are gone

Geraint Thomas, Tadej Pogacar, Jonas Vingegaard… All the top names in the general are on the track.

Van Aert smashes the clock

Wout van Aert improves Filippo Ganna’s reference time by… 42 seconds. With a time of 47’59”, the Belgian is well on his way to claiming a third stage victory.

Van Aert performing a huge blow

The Belgian now has a 25-second lead in the second intermediate time. He’s about to dislodge Ganna!

Let’s go for Wout van Aert

The green jersey, already a double winner on this Tour, has just started its time. Nearly 50 minutes of effort await him, towards a third victory?

Ganna still in the lead at the finish

The provisional classification:

1. Ganna in 48’41”

2. Cattaneo at 43″

3. Wright at 50″

4. Tratnik at 1’06”

5. Politt at 1’21”

First Frenchman, Benjamin Thomas, is 2’27” behind the Italian.

Ganna takes control in 48’41”

Unsurprisingly, world champion Filippo Ganna set a very good time in 48’41”. Here he is at the top of the provisional classification.

Mikkel Bjerg improves reference time

The Dane from UAE crosses the line at Rocamadour in 50’22”. It’s starting to look like something serious.

Filippo Ganna has just started

Let’s go for the Ineos runner, world time trial champion and among the contenders for the win today.

Ewan sets the first reference time… and immediately loses it

First out, first in. Caleb Ewan finished in 56’49” but saw his teammate Janse Van Rensburg sign a 53’54” in stride.

We know the nominees for the super-combative prize

The yellow, green, polka dot and white jerseys having already been awarded (unless there is a huge surprise in the general standings or abandonment), there is still one place on the podium for Sunday: that of the super-combative of the Tour.

And the nominees are: Simon Geschke, Alexis Gougeard, Louis Meintjes, Thibaut Pinot, Tadej Pogacar, Nils Politt, Neilson Powless, Quinn Simmons, Wout van Aert, Fred Wright.

In addition to the members of the jury, the public has a voice in determining the winner. For that, you have to go and vote on the Twitter account of the Antargaz Prize.

Let’s go for the individual time trial

Last runner in the general standings, Australian sprinter Caleb Ewan (Lotto) has just started from Lacapelle-Marival.

A non-starting Vingegaard teammate

The Jumbo-Visma team announces that Belgian Nathan Van Hooydonck will not start this 20th stage for family reasons.

Departure times

The first runner to leave will be the red lantern, Caleb Ewan (1:05 ​​p.m.), the last will be the yellow jersey Jonas Vingegaard (5:00 p.m.), whose arrival in Rocamadour is estimated around 5:49 p.m.

Notable departure times:

– Caleb Ewan, 1:05 p.m.

– Yves Lampaert, 1:29 p.m.

– Filippo Ganna, 2:05 p.m.

– Stefan Kung, 3:50 p.m.

– Wout van Aert, 4:16 p.m.

– Romain Bardet, 4:46 p.m.

– David Gaudu, 4:54 p.m.

– Geraint Thomas, 4:56 p.m.

– Tadej Pogacar, 4:58 p.m.

– Jonas Vingegaard, 5:00 p.m.

Six “Last renovation” activists tried in November

Six activists from the environmental collective “Last renovation” will be tried in November after interrupting the 19th stage of the Tour de France in the Gers on Friday, the Auch prosecutor’s office said on Saturday.

“At the end of their police custody, the six people were summoned to appear on November 22, 2022 before the Auch criminal court to be tried on the count of obstructing the circulation of vehicles”, declared the prosecutor of the Republic Jacques-Edouard Andrault.

One of the members of the collective “lit a smoke bomb” about 150 km from the finish, between the villages of Boucagnères and Auterive, while five other people “chained themselves together and used glue to stick to the floor”, specifies the parquet floor.

The general classification before this 20th stage

1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo) 75:45:39.

2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE) at 3’26”

3. Geraint Thomas (INE) 8’00”

4. david gaudu (GFJ) 11’05”

5. Nairo Quintana (ARK) 13’35”

6. Louis Meintjes (INT) 13’43”

7. Alexander Vlasov (BOR) 14’10”

8. Romain Bardet (DSM) 16’11”

9. Alexey Lutsenko (AST) 20’29”

10. Adam Yates (INE) 20’37”

11. Valentin Madouas (GFJ) 33’34”

12. Bob Jungels (AG2) 42’47”

13. Neilson Powless (EF1) 45’22”

14. Thibaut Pinot (GFJ) 46’33”

15. Luis Leon Sanchez (BAH) 47’27”

What issues?

The main challenge of the day is above all the stage victory. On paper, the favorites are Wout van Aert, Filippo Ganna, Tadej Pogacar, Jonas Vingegaard, Geraint Thomas, Stefan Kung, Stefan Bisseger and even Yves Lampaert, who won the 1st stage in Denmark.

As far as the general is concerned, and unless there is a huge mishap for a rider, we shouldn’t see any major upheavals given the current gaps. However, we will have to follow the battle for 5th place between Nairo Quintana, Louis Meintjes (6th at 8 seconds behind Quintana) and Aleksandr Vlasov (7th at 35 seconds behind Quintana). And also that for 9th place between Alexey Lutsenko and Adam Yates (10th at 8 seconds from Lutsenko).

David Gaudu, 4th and first Frenchman, seems safe, since he has a 2’30” lead over Quintana.

The timeline profile

If the first 30 kilometers of the chrono are rolling – although technical in places – the end of the course is marked by two climbs, the last of which with an average percentage of 8% over 1.5 km.

Hi there !

Welcome to our live commentary to follow the 20th and penultimate stage of the Tour de France 2022. On the program today: a 40.7 km individual time trial between Lacapelle-Marival and Rocamadour.

Leave a Comment