– Advertising –
When you share a file with other people, you may get an error message that you can only share one Conduct file (Docs, Sheets, Slidesetc.) with a Google Account. You may need to do this at work or school to protect sensitive data. However, Google also allows its users to invite non-Google users to work with them as visitors on Google Drive files and folders. Google Account users can manage who can view, edit, or comment on their files. Plus, they can always revoke other people’s access to the file.
Share Google files with visitors
You can share documents normally with non-Google accounts once visitor sharing has been enabled for your organization. After verifying their email address, visitors can edit, comment, or view your document for 7 days. They can use the link from the original share email to re-verify their identity if they need to. collaborate for a longer period. For more information about the chosen accounts you can share, contact your administrator.
You can share files with up to five non-Google users each month if you have a Google Workspace Business Starter or Frontline account.
– Advertising –
Collaborate as a visitor
When you receive a request to collaborate on a Google file, you must authenticate your identity using a Pin. After that, you have seven days to continue working on the shared file or folder together. You can use the link from the initial sharing email to re-confirm your identity if you need to collaborate for a longer period. It is important to note that visitors cannot own the data.
Open the email you received from Google.
Click on the button Open option.
Click on the button Send and a verification code will be sent to your email address.
Open the containing email and copy the verification code received to your inbox.
Click on the button Next button.
You can now work together on a shared Google folder or file.
You can find the document by opening the email from Google.